moving to college

monday, august 14, 2023 at 8:51 pm

currently listening to: bulls in the bronx - pierce the veil

currently reading: mere christianity - cs lewis and hijab butch blues - lamya h.

currently feeling: trepidation, excitement

welcome to my first blog post. today i want to talk about something crazy , which is that i'm officially starting college. since this site is based specifically on my life in richmond u can PROB guess which college... i mean there are a few in richmond but like, what's the first one u think of when u think richmond...? iykyk, and you probably k.

aaaanyway. i have spent tons n tons of time in richmond for the last 4 years bc i live near it n all my friends live there n i love punk so ofc i'm spending all kinds of time in the punkest city on the goddamn east coast! but, i have never actually lived there. i am from a small farm town about an hour southeast... before that, i am actually from norfolk, va which is right on the bay, but i moved to the small town when i was 13.

so richmond is really a big change for me in every way. and i'm so excited. to be honest, i've already spent about five weeks living there, cuz i did this special 5 week program that let me start early n get two classes out of the way. i'm back home for a week now and on saturday i'm moving into my dorm for the fall!

it's a crazy experience that a lot of ppl can relate to. i'm so scared and i'm so, so excited -- and as a way to get more excited for what's ahead, i wanted to make this bucket list for my first semester at school! please comment if you do the same?! let's all make bucket lists for our next semester of college or high school or just our next six months and share in setting sick ass goals 2 have the most fun possible together!!

  • perform at a poetry slam
  • read 10 books
  • get at least one poem published in something
  • apply to a scholarship every week
  • go to shows!
  • make tons of art
  • go to belle isle
  • picnic at pony pasture again
  • party at pipeline
  • party at scuffletown
  • let my brother spend the night in my dorm
  • make a friend in each of my classes
  • get to know my floormates in my dorm
  • keep in touch with s, d, p, a, e, e, and m even tho they're going to other schools
  • thank u for reading and more coming soon!

    i also am gonna try to post a lot on my spacehey which u should follow!

    thx n take care!

    -lucille